The Mathematics Department

The SMC Mathematics department is a dynamic team dedicated to the ideal that all students can achieve well in mathematics through focused effort. We believe our valuable subject opens doors for young people and we are dedicated to supporting students to make great progress. We are always here to help so do feel free to contact any of us via email or by telephoning the school.

Staff  

NAME

EMAIL

RESPONSIBILITIES

Daniel Flack

dflack@smchull.org

Assistant Headteacher

Sarah Paddock

spaddock@smchull.org

Head of Department- Professional development

Craig Lenham

clenham@smchull.org

Assistant Head of Department/ KS4 Leader

Fran Dean

fdean@smchull.org

AST / KS5 Leader

Emma Hope

ehope@smchull.org

KS3 and Transition Leader (maternity)

Will Dodgson

wdodgson@smchull.org

KS3 Leader

Rebecca Bradley

rbradley@smchull.org

Excellent Teacher – Numeracy Coordinator

Mary Thompson

Mthompson@smchull.org

Excellent Teacher

Ellie Ripton

eripton@smchull.org

Post 16 Teacher

Bernie Wright

bwright@smchull.org

 

Dominic Figon

dfigon@smchull.org

 

Louisa Price

lprice@smchull.org

 

Lesley Fearnley

lfearnely@smchull.org

 

Chloe Atkin

catkin@smchull.org

 

Melissa Innes

minnes@smchull.org

 

Debbie Hayes

dhayes@smchull.org

 

Lizzie Taylor

etaylor@smchull.org

 

David Carlisle

dcarlisle@smchull.org

 

Holly Bell

hbell@smchull.org

 

Adam Crane

acrane@smchull.org

 

Joel Vernon

jvernon@smchull.org

 

Robin Buckton

rbuckton@smchull.org

 

Helen Kay

hkay@smchull.org

 

Jacqueline Trewitt

jtrewitt@smchull.org

Teaching Assistant (Maths)

Danielle McDonald

dmcdonald@smchull.org

Mathematics Faculty Administrator

 The Mathematics Curriculum

Key Stage 3

During KS3 students will follow schemes of work developed by experienced members of the department; these schemes continue to evolve in response to the needs of our students. They develop students’ skills across a range of mathematical areas including number, algebra, geometry, proportion and statistics. 

We teach using a Mastery Maths approach as used in many primary schools especially encouraging problem solving, mental maths, calculation fluency and good mathematical vocabulary. We feel this is the best way to prepare our students for their GCSE which has a much higher focus on problem solving than in previous years.

In Key Stage 3, students are taught in ability groups to enable maximum progress. This is assessed regularly to check pupils are in the correct group throughout the year

Key stage 4

Pupils follow a programme of study leading to one single attempt at the AQA GCSE (8300) examination at the end of year 11.


A general guide to expected KS4 outcomes follows below:

 

Course

Set

Year 9 (4 lessons)

Year 10 (4 lessons)

Year 11 (3 lessons)

End of KS4 grade

1

Higher

Higher

Higher

7/8/9

2

Higher

Higher

Higher

6/7

3

Higher

Higher

Higher

5

4

Higher

Higher

Higher/Foundation

4/5

5

Foundation

Foundation

Foundation

4

6

Foundation

Foundation

Foundation

3/4

7

No set 7 in Year 9

Foundation

Foundation

1/2/3

 Key Stage 5

We have had continued high uptake of our Level 3 courses in Key Stage 5. We prepare students for the AQA examinations Mathematics and Further Mathematics.

In Year 12 students study the new specification which is examined at the end of Year 13.

In Year 13, students learn about Core 3 and Core 4 and Decision 1 and are examined at the end of Year 13.

Our Further Mathematicians study the new specification in Further maths which will be examined at the end of Year 13. 

In Year 13 students study Further Pure 2, Statistics 2 and Mechanics 2. 

All examination specifications are available on the AQA website and students receive textbooks, past papers and course handbooks for their personal use throughout the year.

Enrichment

We believe that our 6th Formers, our most capable mathematicians, should be afforded many opportunities to explore and enjoy mathematics. For this reason we offer a wide range of enrichment activities which inject fun and creativity into a demanding period of study. 

We take part in the UKMT Senior Challenge and UKMT Senior Team Challenge.  We are able to provide support for students taking the STEP, AEB or MAT examinations needed for entrance to some universities.  We run various trips throughout the year aimed at supporting our sixth formers to development their mathematical reasoning skills.

 

Key Dates 2016 – 17

 

·         16th May 2008 – Core 1 AM

·         23rd May 2018 – Core 2 AM

·         6th June 2018 – Statistics AM

·         13th June 2018 – Core 3 AM

·         15th June 2019 – Core 4 PM

·         19th June 2018 – Mechanics 1 PM, Statistics 2 PM

·         22nd June 2018 – Decision 1 AM

·         25th June 2018 – Mechanics 2 AM

·         26th June 2018 – Decision 2 AM

KS3 Mathematics at St Mary’s College

At St Mary’s College, students in Years 7 and 8 follow a mastery Scheme of Learning designed to bridge the gap between learning at primary school and secondary school, as well as effectively prepare all pupils for the challenges of the new GCSE Mathematics syllabus.

The KS3 Mastery Scheme of Learning focuses on ensuring pupils have the depth of knowledge required to apply methods and skills in a variety of circumstances, with a keen focus on the importance of problem solving and applying mathematics to real-world problems.

Upon beginning their studies in Year 7, all pupils sit a baseline assessment to ensure that their teachers have an accurate understanding of each pupil’s current skills and abilities. Pupils are grouped into sets based on this assessment, with the sets being considered regularly to ensure that each pupil is in a learning environment to suit them.

All students study the following topics with highly differentiated learning materials to suit varying levels of understanding.

Year 7

·         Solve word problems (add and subtract)

·         Explain and Investigate (multiply and divide)

·         Geometry

·         Fractions

·         Application of algebra

·         Percentages and statistics

Year 8

·         Number

·         Algebraic expressions

·         2-D Geometry

·         Proportion and Percentages

·         Proportional Reasoning

·         Statistics

 

KS3 Mathematics - Assessments

Pupils sit short topic assessments at the end of each unit of learning as well as four exam-style assessments each year.

The four main assessments cover all material taught up until that point, including those covered in previous years.

Pupils are also expected to complete one piece of home-learning each week to help with their understanding.

KS3 Mathematics – Extra-curricular and Support

We are keen to ensure that pupils benefit from the enrichment that extra-curricular activities enable. As such, St Mary’s College takes part in the UK Maths Challenge each year, with rewards for all those taking part and an opportunity for successful candidates to take part in a national maths competition.

Maths Club takes place every Tuesday and Thursday lunchtime and is open to any student who would like support with homework, to challenge themselves to complete some interesting questions, to simply discuss maths with some equally interested members of staff.

Further enrichment activities are available in the form of events run by the Further Maths Support Network, STEM Centre and other local and national bodies promoting the learning of maths.

Additional Information

Students have access to vle.mathswatch.com, a video tutorial package containing media clip tutorials across all grades including practice questions.

The login details are as follows:

Username: network login (16_smith_j@smchull)

Password: password

 

The school has also subscribed to www.mymaths.co.uk which contains a wide range of tutorials and will be used by the teacher to set homework tasks. All students have been issued with individual logins and passwords enabling them to access both websites on any computer with internet connection.

The school login details are as follows:-

Username: stmaryscoll

Password: trapezium