The Mathematics Department

 

The SMC Mathematics Department is a dynamic team dedicated to the ideal that all students can achieve well in mathematics through focused effort. We believe our valuable subject opens doors for young people and we are dedicated to supporting students to make great progress. We are always here to help so do feel free to contact any of us via email or by telephoning the school.

 

Staff

 

NAME

EMAIL

RESPONSIBILITIES

Sarah Paddock

spaddock@smchull.org

Head of Department- Professional Development

Daniel Flack

dflack@smchull.org

Assistant Headteacher

Craig Lenham

clenham@smchull.org

Assistant Head of Department / KS4 Leader

Fran Dean

fdean@smchull.org

AST / KS5 Leader

Emma Hope

ehope@smchull.org

KS3 and Transition Leader

Will Dodgson

wdodgson@smchull.org

Pupil progress and monitoring

Rebecca Bradley

rbradley@smchull.org

Assistant Head of Year 7

Mary Thompson

mthompson@smchull.org

Excellent Teacher – Teaching & Learning

Holly Bell

hbell@smchull.org

Whole school Numeracy coordinator

Ellie Ripton

eripton@smchull.org

Post-16 Teacher

Melissa Innes

minnes@smchull.org

Whole school PSHCE coordinator

Bernie Wright

bwright@smchull.org

 

Dominic Figon

dfigon@smchull.org

 

Louisa Price

lprice@smchull.org

 

Lesley Fearnley

lfearnely@smchull.org

 

Chloe Atkin

catkin@smchull.org

 

Debbie Hayes

dhayes@smchull.org

 

Craig Beckett

cbeckett@smchull.org

 

Adam Crane

acrane@smchull.org

 

Jayne Burnham

jburnham@smchull.org

 

Sara McConville

smcconville@Smchull.org

 

Jacqueline Trewitt

jtrewitt@smchull.org

Teaching Assistant (Mathematics)

Danielle McDonald

dmcdonald@smchull.org

Mathematics Faculty Administrator

 

The Mathematics Curriculum

 

Key Stage 3

KS3 students will follow schemes of work developed by experienced members of the department; these schemes continue to evolve in response to the needs of our students. They develop students’ skills across a range of mathematical areas including number, algebra, geometry, proportion and statistics.

 

We teach using a Mastery Maths approach as used in many primary schools encouraging problem solving, mental maths, calculation fluency and good mathematical vocabulary. We feel this is the best way to prepare our students for their GCSE which has a much higher focus on problem solving than in previous years.

 

In Key Stage 3, students are taught in ability groups to enable maximum progress. This is assessed regularly to check pupils are in the correct group throughout the year

 

Key stage 4

Pupils follow a programme of study leading to one single attempt at the AQA GCSE (8300) examination at the end of Year 11.
A general guide to expected KS4 outcomes follows below:

 

Course

Set

Year 9 (4 lessons)

Year 10 (4 lessons)

Year 11 (3 lessons)

End of KS4 grade

1

Higher

Higher

Higher

7/8/9

2

Higher

Higher

Higher

6/7

3

Higher

Higher

Higher

5

4

Higher

Higher

Higher/Foundation

4/5

5

Foundation

Foundation

Foundation

4

6

Foundation

Foundation

Foundation

3/4

7

Foundation

Foundation

Foundation

1/2/3

 

Key dates 2018 -19:

·        21st May 2019        – GCSE Maths Paper 1 AM

·        6th June 2019          – GCSE Maths Paper 2 AM

·        11th June 2019        – GCSE Maths Paper 1 AM

 

Key Stage 5

We have had continued high uptake of our Level 3 courses in Key Stage 5. We prepare students for the AQA examinations Mathematics (7357) and Further Mathematics (7367).

 

In Year 12 and 13 students study the new specification which is examined at the end of Year 13.

  

Our Further Mathematicians study the new specification in Further mathematics which will be examined at the end of Year 13.  We have the capacity to teach all of the applied options and will choose them to best suit the needs of the students in the class. 

 

All examination specifications are available on the AQA website and students receive textbooks, past papers and course handbooks for their personal use throughout the year.

 

Enrichment

We believe that our 6th Formers, our most capable mathematicians, should be afforded many opportunities to explore and enjoy mathematics. For this reason, we offer a wide range of enrichment activities which inject fun and creativity into a demanding period of study. 

We take part in the UKMT Senior Challenge and UKMT Senior Team Challenge.  We are able to provide support for students taking the STEP, AEB or MAT examinations needed for entrance to some universities.  We run various trips throughout the year aimed at supporting our sixth formers to development their mathematical reasoning skills.

 

Key Dates 2018 – 19

 

·        5th June 2019          – A Level Mathematics Paper 1 AM

·        12th June 2019        – A Level Mathematics Paper 2 AM

·        14th June 2019        – A Level Mathematics Paper 3 PM

·        3rd June 2019          – A Level Further Mathematics Paper 1 AM

·        6th June 2019          – A Level Further Mathematics Paper 2 PM

·        13th June 2019        – A Level Further Mathematics Paper 3 PM

 

Additional Information

Students have access to vle.mathswatch.com, a video tutorial package containing media clip tutorials across all grades including practice questions.

The login details are as follows:

 

                        Username: network login (16_smith_j@smchull)

                        Password: password

 

The school has also subscribed to www.mymaths.co.uk which contains a wide range of tutorials and will be used by the teacher to set homework tasks. All students have been issued with individual logins and passwords enabling them to access both websites on any computer with internet connection.

The school login details are as follows:-

 

                        Username: stmaryscoll

                        Password: trapezium